Happy Halloween!

In the past I’ve been charged with making Halloween costumes for my niece, Rocketpuppy.  This year she was uber-indecisive about what she wanted to be, so it’s a good thing I didn’t end up making her costume.  But, not one to disappoint, I did manage to make a costume for her baby doll.  I don’t have pictures of the costume on the doll yet, so I thought I’d try it out on Mr. Neilson.

The costume is made from a tulle remnant that was 9″ wide.  I folded it in half and ran a basting stitch around the fold.  I gathered up the tulle to about 13″ and stitched 10″ of fold-over elastic to the gathered edge, stretching as I sewed.  I wanted to make sure the skirt gave enough while stretching it onto the doll.  I seamed up the elastic, but not the tulle.

The top is made from a scrap of leftover dancewear, cut into two 5″x5″ squares.  I cut out arm holes and a head hole then stitched the sides and shoulders.  I didn’t finish the holes in anyway, the fabric isn’t going to unravel, and I’m not fond of tiny holes.  With right sides together, I stitched the skirt to the top.  All stitches with the exception of the gathering stitch were zigzag to allow for stretching.

The wings had been haunting me.  I came across some tutorials for making wings, and they seemed doable, but also a little daunting.  Then I talked to a good buddy of mine, and she suggested buying a fake butterfly and pulling off the antennae.  So I did.  The only one I could find was orange, which is not ideal, but it can always be switched out when, say, a yellow one comes available.  The butterfly came with a clip on the back, so I cut a small slit in the back of the top to put the clip through.

It was a really quick project, and I’m pleased with the results.  I’ll get a picture on the doll later, plus a picture of my costume.  It’s the “bad luck” costume, so there’s a good chance the Chipotle I’m planning on going to will burn down or something.  But, hey, maybe the fourth try is the charm?

Leave a Reply

