DIY Silver Care

A couple weeks ago I was putting together a costume, and I thought of a bracelet that would go really well with it.  Although I’m sure I knew about this, I’d forgotten how tarnished it was.  And while sometimes a patina can be a “look”, it wasn’t the look I was going for.

image

Obviously I decided to take to the interwebs and find a solution.  I knew there had to be a way to remove the tarnish without going out and buying tarnish remover.  Because that’s the kind of girl I am.  And find it I did.  Suddenly I feel the need to go out and buy a crap load of tarnished silver jewelry to revive.

What you need:

  • A vessel big enough to hold your object(s)
  • A sheet of aluminum foil big enough to line your vessel (alternately, you may use an aluminum pot if you have one)
  • Baking soda
  • Water

The amount of water and baking soda will depend on how much you need to cover your item(s).  The ratio is 1/4c baking soda to every quart of water.

First, line your vessel:

image

Add object:

image

(not pictured)Bring your water to a boil.  Once boiling, bring your water to the sink and add your baking soda.  It WILL fizzle over, hence the sink.  Once it’s calmed down, pour water over object:

image

After a few minutes, you should see results.  I pulled my bracelet out with tongs after a couple minutes, and it already looked awesome and shiny.  I put it back and let it soak while I finished folding my laundry.  After I came back, it really didn’t appear to have done any more tarnish removal, so I think there may be a point of diminishing returns, but it didn’t seem to have an adverse affect on it.  Rinse off any baking soda residue and dry well.  Admire the shiny:

image

There are still a few areas that are a little discolored.  I’ve read that plain white toothpaste will help, so once I get my hands on some, I’ll try that out and report the results.  I have a delightful silver goblet that could use some TLC as well.  😀

One thought on “DIY Silver Care

  1. My sister-in-law designs and makes silver jewelry. She recently mentioned that toothpaste is great for cleaning silver, and that any kind will do. So try the blue toothpaste in your bathroom cabinet. I dare you. (And you can hit me with your jewelry if I’m wrong.)

Leave a Reply

