Homemade Cat Treats

A good friend of mine had a garage/bake sale this last weekend to help raise money for some serious vet bills.  To help out a bit, I made up some cat treats that she could either sell or give to her kitties–I figured it was win-win.  I found a ridiculously easy recipe on Floppy Cats and gave it a whirl.

Catnip Cookies for Cats (Credit: Floppy Cats, very minor changes)

  • 1 cup of all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup of whole wheat flour
  • 2 tablespoons of wheat germ
  • 3 tablespoons of catnip
  • 1/3 cup of milk
  • 2 tablespoons of vegetable oil
  • 1 tablespoon of molasses
  • 1 egg (I actually was out of egg so I used a little arrowroot with water as a binder–I figured it was safe for cats when I found out they make dry shampoo for cats out of it)

The Hows:

Preheat oven to 350ºF.  Mix everything together to form a dough.  Flour surface and rolling pin, and roll dough to 1/2 thickness.  Using a pizza wheel (you can use a knife, but the pizza cutter keeps it from being a major pain in the ass), cut the dough into kitty bite sized pieces.  The original recipe calls for 1″ pieces, so that’s what I did (thinking perhaps they would shrink a bit), but I ended up cutting the cooked cookies into quarters.

image

Bake on greased cookie sheet for 10-15 minutes until golden brown and crispy.  I suspect that if they are cut into smaller pieces they’d bake faster, so I’d keep an eye on them.  If I try this again, I will edit this post.

image

The verdict?  Unfortunately, this is the only one Dragon would eat.  He seemed to really love it, but when I tried to give him some later, he turned up his nose.  However, Dragon doesn’t like cat nip.  He’ll sniff at it a little.  Lick it a little.  Then totally lose all interest.

image

Making these treats was really quite easy.  One of these days I’ll make some of the other treats on the Floppy Cats page, I just really didn’t want to make a trip to the store, and I had (almost) everything on hand for the cookies.

One thought on “Homemade Cat Treats

Leave a Reply

