Banana Oatmeal Blueberry Muffins

My Android is under the delusion that there is no word “blueberry”.  “Blueberries” yes.  “Blueberry” no.

I like bringing up recipes on my phone instead of my laptop to use in the kitchen.  Given the amount of counter space I have, this seems logical to me.  But annoying when I want to look up a recipe for blueberry muffins.  You don’t say “blueberries muffins,” Android; you just don’t.

But I found my recipe–this puppy from Skinny Taste, despite my phone’s attempts to thwart me.  And then I realized I didn’t have any applesauce.  I was about to set aside the oatmeal I’d already measured out and pulsed with my immersion blender, close it up in a container until I made it to the store, when I noticed the bunch of bananas I’d purchased a couple days earlier already to the “gotta use now!” stage of ripeness.

So I thought, “what the hell,” and mashed one of those bad-boys up in my blender cup.  Luckily for me it came to exactly half a cup.  Excelente, as we say in ess-pan-niole.  So here is my interpretation of “skinny” blueberry muffins.  I debated on whether I would use a whole egg instead of two whites because I think yolks are really healthy for you, and the amount of egg per muffin is pretty negligible.  But because I’m a total freak about having an odd number of eggs left in the carton, I went with the whites.  I also sure if it wasn’t a texture reason, because I don’t know enough about muffin chemistry.

Banana Oatmeal Blueberry Muffins (adapted from Skinny Taste)

Yield: 12 muffins

  • 1 1/2 cups quick oatmeal
  • 1 cup milk of your choice (I used skim, could use almond, soy, coconut, etc)
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar, packed
  • 2 tbsp Splenda (or sugar, agave, honey)
  • 1/2 cup banana, mashed (approximately 1 large banana)
  • 2 egg whites
  • 1 tbsp oil
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 cup blueberries (I used frozen)
  • baking spray

Grind up oats in food processor, blender, immersion blender, or chopper.  Add milk and let sit for about a half an hour.

Preheat oven to 400ºF.  Fill muffin pan with muffin cups and spray with baking spray.

In a large mixing bowl or bowl to stand mixer, combine brown sugar, Splenda, banana, egg whites, oil, and vanilla.

In a small bowl, mix together flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.

By now your oatmeal should have soaked up all that milk and made a delightful mash.  Mix that mash into your wet ingredients.  Slowly add in dry ingredients until just mixed.  Don’t worry too much about dry ingredients on the edges or bottom.  Fold in blueberries (this is where you can gently add any dry ingredients that got missed).

Divide batter evenly among 12 muffin cups.  Bake for 22-24 minutes (turning halfway through if your oven is like mine).  Allow these to completely cool before trying to remove the muffin papers.  Trust me on this.

Fact: Pirate muffins taste better than regular muffins.  That little hint is my gift to you.  I’m also pretty sure that making these muffins cost less than one muffin at Panera, so not only are they “skinny”, they are also totally frugal.  And really fast and easy to make.  Anyone can make muffins.  Promise.

Leave a Reply

