The compliments, they go to my head

I am the very last person that should give beauty advice.  So, of course that’s what I’m going to do.

I received a crap load of compliments on my hair yesterday, which is funny to me because I only did my hair the way I did because 1) It was still wet when I needed to go to work and 2) The end result of that hair-do produces the perfect level of mental illness I like to display with my hair the next day (And, yes, I don’t believe in washing my hair every day.  It doesn’t make sense to me to strip my hair of all its defenses, and then replace that with conditioners).

So what did my hair look like yesterday?

Hard to tell from the picture, but it’s pigtails.  I wanted to highlight the twists more.

This is seriously easy to do.  I’m just barely dexterous enough to braid my hair (and I can’t french braid, that’s just crazy talk), but I can do this.  And if I can do this, you probably can to.

Start by brushing your hair into a middle part.  Continue that part all the way down the back of your head.  Pick one side of your head to start on.  If you’re anything like me, you’ll have tired little girly arms that don’t like being up for long periods of time.  So the side you pick should probably be your “good side” so it can look extra good.  Or maybe it should be your bad side to even your sides out more?  I dunno… Moving on.

Taking chunks of your hair about 1/2 to 1 inch at a time start twisting.  This is the tricky part–You need to hold the twisted chunks in one hand while the other hand keeps twisting.  I find it helps to put the twists in the crook between thumb and index while using the other three fingers to help twist.  It takes a little finagling, but I have faith in you.  Once you get all your little twists on one side, gather your piggy into a rubber band and move onto the other side.

If you want to use this ‘do to create yet another ‘do the following day, spray your head with hairspray before and after styling.  I use Aussie Sprunch, I have no idea how other hairsprays will work.

What’s the resulting style?

Helloooo, crazy hair!

Leave a Reply

