These are a few of my favorite things…

From Aldi, that is.  I am posting this, again, not because Aldi is paying me (call me!), but because a lot of people are like I was a couple years ago: totally interested in slashing my grocery bill, but a little worried about what I’d find at Aldi.

Without further ado, some of my favorite items I get at Aldi.  I will probably have another edition, since I don’t currently have all my favorites available to photograph. These are in no particular order, other than how I happened to remember them.

This is currently not only my favorite Aldi food, but quite possibly my favorite food of the moment, period.  I love this pizza.  I want to marry this pizza.  I don’t even like cherry tomatoes, and I love this pizza.  I don’t really remember the cost of any of these purchases, but I’m pretty sure this one hovers around $3.  I don’t think I could make this pizza for $3, unless maybe I grew the spinach and tomatoes myself.  I have had this pizza three times in as many weeks.  And will probably continue doing so until I inevitably get sick of it, as I often do because I go a little crazy when I like certain foods.  This pizza was the inspiration for this post.

Yes, my shadow is in most of the pictures. I'm no professional.

I discovered these as a result of The Hippy never being home for dinner anymore.  In order to keep myself from eating out every day, I had to look for premade lunches, so I grabbed this.  And loved it.  The bottom gets nice and crispy, even in the microwave, and the cheese is super gooey.  The mushrooms and the steak have a great flavor to them as well.  I do not eat it folded, however, because that would get really messy (see aforementioned comment about gooey).  I just eat it with a fork.

I am a teensy bit in love with Leeann Chin‘s Orange Chicken.  But, at $7 a plate, I can’t have it all that often.  Especially since it’s too much for one meal, but I don’t really have enough will power to only eat half and save the rest for another meal.  If I had the will power, $7 wouldn’t be too bad.  But this lovely little kit is only, I think, $5, and it usually feeds the two of us with leftovers for me to bring to lunch the next day.  Or it used to.  Either we’ve been eating more, or they started putting less in the package.  But still, $5 for two meals is still better than $7 for 1-1/4 meals.

I have always purchased generic cereal.  Since becoming an adult I have denied myself the delightful novelty cereals that companies come up with to make their product more exciting in favor of store brands and Malt-o-Meal.  For some reason this used to really bug my mom.  She once brought a national brand of cereal and made me taste test that with my store brand.  I could tell the difference and I actually preferred the store brand.  I think that’s probably the first taste test in history that was actually intended to sway someone away from buying generic.  Years later, and I still don’t understand the logic.

This is kind of a no-brainer for me.  And the only item that I know the exact price of: $0.79.  Which on its own is pretty damn awesome, since I think the lowest I’ve ever seen at a grocery store is $1.  BUT, every once in awhile, Aldi runs them for $0.49.  And then I buy six.  Because I’m crazy.  Next time they run that price, I will buy up a ton to freeze for smoothies.

I have a confession to make with this one:  I haven’t actually tried this.  But, The Hippy loves this Texas Toast.  It’s his favorite thing from Aldi, and possibly his favorite thing in the world.  From the smell of it, these have to be pretty good–if you like garlic.  There have been times that my eyes have burned from the house smelling so garlicky after he cooked these.  One of these days I’ll try them, but usually the box is emptied too quickly for me to get a taste.

This is the holy grail of ice cream.  I want to eat this ice cream all day every day.  I’m sure I felt that way about the versions of this made by more national brands, but I haven’t had them in a long while, so as far as I’m concerned this is the best ice cream you will ever eat.  Ever.  Unless you’re allergic to peanuts.  And if that’s the case, you probably have far bigger things to worry about than eating the best ice cream in the entire world.

So, there you have it.  A little list of things at Aldi that you can eat without any fear that they will suck.  Unless your tastes are the complete opposite of mine.  But they shouldn’t be, because I’m pretty awesome, and I only like awesome things.

One thought on “These are a few of my favorite things…

  1. This is only partially related to your above post, but I have a report for you that you might find useful, it’s on the Avocado & Egg idea (http://foodbeast.com/content/2012/01/13/idea-baked-avocado-and-egg/)that I saw someone posted on your FB wall recently. I tried this recipe twice, and “succeeded” once.

    The ease of this recipe is deceptive, first of all. My first attempt ended with me severely disappointed, disgusted by eggs (which I love, btw) and wasting a perfectly good avocado.

    Some things to note if you plan to try this that may offer you better results: 1)If you can find eggs that are smaller than “Large” I highly recommend this, the smallest I’ve been able to find were medium eggs 2)to best accomodate the egg you will be putting in the avocado, try to find a large or extra large avocado 3)avocados are rounded on the bottom, so I made little foil supports to avoid them from tipping over and dripping egg 4)you will need to carve out a large part of the avocado and you may still end up with some unused eggwhites 5) break your egg into a bowl, then pour into avocado. This allows you more control.

    Armed with this knowledge and equipped with medium eggs, several weeks later, I was up for trying again. I “succeeded” this time because we were actually able to eat our egg/avocado, but with less than desirable results. The recipe gives you no idea on how long it takes to cook an egg in the oven, so I went by vision. This resulted in over cooked eggs. Bleh. So, I don’t think I will ever try this recipe again–I’d rather fry up an egg in a pan and serve it with cool avocado slices on the side.

Leave a Reply

