Month of Writing: Entry 1

If you could go anywhere in the world right now, where would you go and why?

Answered: 11/3/11

If I could go anywhere in the world right now, it would be St. Johns, Newfoundland.  Though I’ve never been, my mental picture evokes brilliant greens juxtaposed against the grey of the sky and the slate blue of the sea.

St. Johns is a great combination of old and new.  A modern society in a community that remembers its past and traditions.  It is considered North America’s oldest city, and the culture reflects that.  There are remnants of the old colonial architecture mixed with modern looks as well.

What devastates me is the shift from a fishing culture to an oil production economy.  But that is much the way of the world.  The parks and museums still reflect the maritime history, though.  It is certainly not forgotten, and I think that the residents are as pained by it as this stranger to their land (well, probably more).  But they needed to make a living, so oil it was.

Ultimately what has drawn me to St. Johns is the band Great Big Sea.  Their music often reflects the history and passion of the people.  To me they represent a part of St. Johns’ thriving art culture that I want to know more of.

I would also be thrilled to spend time amongst the accent.  I know it sounds weird, but they have this strange mix of Irish and Canadian, two accents I am personally find of.  I am drawn more to voices than any other “physical” aspect of people.  I have heard there are story-telling cab drivers, and I could frankly spend all day to that voice telling stories.  Which would probably run up the cab bill something fierce.

So, yeah.  I can’t be there right now.  I don’t know when I’ll ever get to go.  But it’s on my bucket list.  I don’t even have a bucket list, so maybe it’s the only thing on there.  Some day.

Leave a Reply

