Chocolate Avocado Pudding

Being an avid RSS reader, I follow a lot of food blogs.  I’ve even complained about how food bloggers all tend to make the same stuff.  However, once in awhile something totally sparks my interest, much like the banana ice cream and green smoothie kick awhile ago.  And I’m going to do it again today.

I freaking love avocados.  Would eat one every day if they didn’t tend to be somewhat expensive–okay, who am I kidding, they are delicious and filling and should be totally worth it, but I’m stingy.  One day I went into Aldi and they had avocados at $0.49 a piece.  Which is $0.30 cheaper than their average price, and about $1 cheaper than my local grocery stores.  So I bought a ton.  Most of them went toward creating a double veggie snack by mashing them with a little True Lime and dipping my carrot sticks in them.  But two went toward making a rather delightful pudding.

I had already attempted said pudding once with much more expensive avocados, and had been highly disappointed.  The second time around I gathered up some bananas and semisweet chocolate and left that lame avocado, cocoa powder, honey mixture to sit in a corner and think about what it had done.  What was born is a delicious and relatively healthy pudding.  There is an entire internet full of reasons why avocados and chocolate are good for you, and while the calorie count is pretty much on par with pudding cups, the pay off is richer, creamier, more satisfying, and contains a crap load of vitamins and fiber.

The deets:

  • 1 avocado, removed from it’s shell, seed discarded
  • 1 banana, peeled
  • 2 squares semisweet chocolate (or 2 ounces of whatever your favorite chocolate is)

Melt that chocolate according to packaging–don’t burn it, that would be sad.  Plop the banana in that chocolate and mix with a hand mixer.  This could, of course, all be done in a blender, food processor, kitchen aid mixer, or with a hand mixer.  Bananas and avocados are soft, do whatever is most convenient for you.

Before

After. And let's be honest; if you stopped right here, it would taste delicious.

Next you want to add the avocado.  Blend the hell out of that until you get a super creamy mixture of heaven.

The avocado skin is there to show my waste-not mentality in regards to avocados.

And, uh… yeah.  That’s it.  Really.  You’re, like, five minutes away from bliss.  What are you waiting for?

Nom

I realize that the photos do not accurately represent the recipe I posted.  When I made this, my ingredients were double.  However, this pudding doesn’t refrigerate for very long, so I recommend that if you aren’t sharing this dish, you only make a single batch.

Leave a Reply

