Delicious Noms: Sardines

Let me say this right off the bat.  If you like fish, especially if you like smoked fish, get over the stigma of sardines, and go buy yourself a couple tins.  Now.  Do it.  I’ll wait.

Back?  Okay, on with my story.

A few months ago I was watching TV with my sister and her husband.  We were tuned to The Food Network and were watching the Good Eats episode about how Alton Brown lost a bunch of weight.  Instantly interesting, since he was no-nonsense and dedicated to eating well and not depriving himself.  Alton began extolling the virtues of sardines.  In a nutshell, sardines help cardiovascular health, memory, joints, skin and energy levels.

I’d never tried sardines, but I’m usually willing to try anything once.  The recipe he made with the sardines looked great, and it can be found here.

One problem: I’d never really been a fan of avocados.  Then one day I had the world’s best guacamole.  Shortly after that we had a taco bar with chopped up avocados.  Suddenly, I was hooked.  All I’ve wanted to eat for the last couple of months is avocados.  So I finally broke down and made Alton’s recipe.

Sardine-Avocado Bagel

(Adapted from Alton Brown’s Sherried Sardine Toast)

  • Two cans of sardines in oil
  • apple cider vinegar
  • lemon juice
  • dill
  • Whole grain bagel
  • Half avocado (seal the other half really well, and use it later with the rest of the sardines)

Drain oil from one tin of sardines and set aside or discard–works great brushed on the bagel for toasting.  Drain the other can into a bowl and mix in a splash of apple cider vinegar and a splash of lemon juice.  Sprinkle a healthy helping of dill into your little vinaigrette.  Add in all the little fishies and start mashing.  Put your sliced and oiled (or not, whatever floats your boat) bagel under the broiler.  While broiling, cube the avocado in the skin, plop the cubes into another bowl and mash away.  Once the bagel is toasted, pile on a healthy heap of the sardine mix onto both halves of the bagel.  Top with the avocado mash, divided between the two bagel halves.  Eat and enjoy.

There will be plenty of sardine mixture leftover for the next couple of meals, unless you have a far bigger appetite than I do.  I figure it will last through two avocados worth, so I plan on enjoying it for three more breakfasts.  I bet this will get me to my first snack far more successfully than my usual peanut butter toast.  Honestly, I can’t eat this again.  Nom nom nom

Leave a Reply

