Motivation: Feel the Burn

I don’t know about you, but I’m not always super motivated to work, whether at home or at my job.  Sometimes there are Lifetime Movies to be watched and bon bons to be eaten.*  Let’s face it, we’re not always going to be this hardcore:

Women at work on bomber, Douglas Aircraft Company, Long Beach, Calif. (LOC)

One thing that helps keep me motivated is the reminder that any movement that gets me off my butt is, essentially, exercise.  And the more I clean, the more I move.  The more I move, the more bon bons** can eat.  Let’s go to the stats:



I put my stats into FitDay with rather conservative estimates as to how long I take to do certain activities.  Keep in mind, I have a small house.  There’s not a lot of surface to clean, which is awesome.  Even still, if I put in a few hours of work to just make my house presentable (as in, not total spring cleaning, mad thorough extravaganza), I burn 281 calories.  Just doing what needs to be done.  It’s brainless exercise because you’re mind doesn’t think it’s exercise.

One tip to spike up the calorie burn:  Turn on your favorite music and shake what ya’ mama gave ya every step of the way.  Even just one hour of slow dancing will burn around 180 calories.

Another tip: Every trip you take up a stair case is an extra 3 calories burned over just walking in general.  Doesn’t seem so crappy to have your laundry in the basement anymore, does it?

*I’ve never eaten a bon bon in my life.  I also don’t have cable, and therefore no Lifetime Movies.

**Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups.

One thought on “Motivation: Feel the Burn

  1. Pingback: Motivation: Get Groovin’ « Secrets of a Wannabe Housewife

Leave a Reply

