Green Cleaning: Laundry

I’m slowly phasing commercial cleaners out of my house.  I started making my own laundry detergent years ago, in an attempt to get rid of the ever-growing number of bumps on my arms (it worked pretty well, by the way).  I did a quick Google search and landed on The Frugal Shopper.

I prefer liquid laundry soap, so I do up this recipe:

3 Pints Water
1/3 Bar Fels Naptha Soap, Grated
1/2 Cup Washing Soda
1/2 Cup Borax
2 Gallon Bucket
1 Quart Hot Water
Hot Water

Mix Fels Naptha soap in a saucepan with 3 pints of water, and heat on low until dissolved. Stir in Washing Soda and Borax. Stir until thickened, and remove from heat. Add 1 Quart Hot Water to 2 Gallon Bucket. Add soap mixture, and mix well. Fill bucket with hot water, and mix well. Set aside for 24 hours, or until mixture thickens. Use 1/2 cup of mixture per load.

I had a 2 gallon All dispenser with a spigot, which works absolutely perfectly to store and dispense the detergent.  The “large load” line on the cup is 1/2 cup. I throw the cup straight into the washer in order to get the most out of my detergent and to clean out the cup so it isn’t covered in crusted up detergent.

The end result was immediately softer clothes.  Washing soda acts as a water softener.  If you want to know why soft water is beneficial, click here–I just can’t explain it as well as that.  I don’t have the whitest whites, but I don’t use bleach.  I plan on trying Bluing someday, though.

I still have 2/3 of a Fels Naptha bar lying around.  When I use up that bar, I plan to buy some Dr. Bronners lovely scented loveliness.  Almond, perhaps?

Stay tuned for how baking soda has changed my life.  Pins and needles, folks.  Pins and needles.

2 thoughts on “Green Cleaning: Laundry

Leave a Reply

