Top 10 Blogs I Follow

While driving somewhere between Chicago and Kenosha this weekend, my buddy The Cheap Chick and I got on the subject of blogs.  She wondered what blogs I particularly like, and I tried to share what I could from memory.  I don’t think that list was very good, so I thought I would make a blog post dedicated to the top 10 blogs in my Google Reader…  The ones I always look forward to hearing from, and that I’m not just following in hopes that they happen to post a good-sounding recipe.   Without further ado…

(Never Home) Maker: Ashley posts about running and great, healthy food.  She makes me painfully jealous of her ability to run, but not in a way that makes me want to swear off her blog.  I love her little lessons on food for runners.  She and I are the same age, but she seems way more “grown up” than I am.

How Sweet It Is: Jessica is another blogger that’s very close in age to me, and I also feel like a lot of the things she says and turns-of-phrases she uses are similar to my own.  I think she’s over-the-top and sometimes ridiculous, and I find that to be completely awesome.  Also too, she posts fabulous recipes.

Books of Adam: Fun drawings.  Life stories.  Hyperbole.  What more can a girl ask for?

Cake Wrecks: It’s kind of like watching someone fall down.  Repeatedly.  With frosting.

Epbot: From the makers of Cake Wrecks.  Epbot combines life, art, disney, nerddom, and steampunk.  Jen’s finally getting into making her own costumes instead of just admiring, and it’s going to be loads of fun watching her spiral into the insanity that I live now.

Dr. Grumpy in the House: Dr. Grumpy’s blog has me laughing more often than most blogs.  People do silly things and say ridiculous stuff, and Dr. Grumpy seems to be a target more than most people.  He also runs stories about significant historic disasters, and those are always terribly interesting.

Gertie’s New Blog for Better Sewing: It’s like a rockabilly BHG sewing book.  She makes some seriously fabulous stuff, shells out a ton of advice, and has some really adorable pets thrown in for good measure.  And now I just found a list of the blog she follows, which means I won’t get my life back for awhile…

Heather’s Dish: Heather is another blogger who sounds like she’s inside my head.  Her tastes in food usually match up with mine pretty well.  I wish I had more of a chance to cook, because between her and a few other blogs, I’ve got a ton of recipes I’m dying to try.

Love & Hisses: ZOMG the cute.  So. Much. Cute.  That is all.

StitchPunk: The fine folks at Urban Threads aren’t just totally creative, they’re also very giving.  They’re constantly sharing super-awesome embroidery related stuff.  They are never short on inspiration.

That’s about it for now.  It is by no means a complete list.  I also plan on making a list of the web comics I follow, since that’s another category of my RSS feed that runeth over.  They’re pretty rad, if I do say so myself.

Leave a comment